The school year

Date of update

The school year lasts 10 months.

It begins in early September and ends in late June or early July.

There are four school holidays spread over the year:

  • in late October (Toussaint) ;
  • at the holidays season (Christmas/New year);
  • in the winter (February/March) ; and
  • in the spring (April/May).

 

These holidays last for two weeks, except for Toussaint, which lasts for 10 days around All Saints’ Day (November 1).

Each year, the French Ministry for Education sets holiday dates for the different academic zones. France is split into three areas, A, B and C, each comprising various academic regions.

The calendar for the 2020-2021 academic year is as follows:

Holidays Zone A Zone B Zone C
Académies : Besançon, Bordeaux, Clermont-Ferrand, Dijon, Grenoble, Limoges, Lyon, Poitiers Académies : Aix-Marseille, Amiens, Caen, Lille, Nancy-Metz, Nantes, Nice, Orléans-Tours, Reims, Rennes, Rouen, Strasbourg Académies : Créteil, Montpellier, Paris, Toulouse, Versailles
Back-to-school Classes resume on: Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Classes resume on: Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Classes resume on: Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Toussaint holidays Classes end on: Saturday, October 17, 2020
Classes resume on: Monday, November 2, 2020
Classes end on: Saturday, October 17, 2020
Classes resume on: Monday, November 2, 2020
Classes end on: Saturday, October 17, 2020
Classes resume on: Monday, November 2, 2020
Christmas Holidays Classes end on: Saturday, December 19, 2020
Classes resume on: Monday, January 4, 2021
Classes end on: Saturday, December 19, 2020
Classes resume on: Monday, January 4, 2021
Classes end on: Saturday, December 19, 2020
Classes resume on: Monday, January 4, 2021
Winter Holidays Classes end on: Saturday, February 6, 2021
Classes resume on: Monday, March 22, 2021
Classes end on: Saturday, February 20, 2021
Classes resume on: Monday, March 8, 2021
Classes end on: Saturday, February 13, 2021
Classes resume on: Monday, March 1st, 2021
Spring Holidays Classes end on: Saturday, April 10, 2021
Classes resume on: Monday, April 26, 2021
Classes end on: Saturday, April 24, 2021
Classes resume on: Monday, May 10, 2021
Classes end on: Saturday, April 17, 2021
Classes resume on: Monday, May 3rd 26, 2021
Summer Holidays Classes end on: Saturday, July 6, 2021 Classes end on: Saturday, July 6, 2021 Classes end on: Saturday, July 6, 2021

The holidays begin once the day’s classes are completed.  For students who do not have classes on Saturdays, the holidays begin on the Friday evening. Classes resume on the morning of the dates indicated above.