Guadeloupe

Regional GDP

8,597 M€

Population

395 700

Area

1 628 km²

Regional capital

Basse-Terre

French overseas territories

There are 12 overseas territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, and the Wallis and Futuna islands, which together have almost 2.6 million inhabitants. Because of its overseas territories, France is the only EU country that is present in three separate oceans. They help consolidate France’s second place worldwide in terms of maritime reach and make a telling contribution to the rollout of the country’s maritime and “blue growth” policies. These territories enshrine the future of energy as they are the “100% renewable energy” forerunners of the energy transition and the promotion of clean transportation.

Guadeloupe: a French region at the heart of the Americas

Guadeloupe is located in the Caribbean at three-hour’s flight time from the United States.

Its port infrastructure is comprised of 13 multipurpose ports, 10 fishing ports and three marinas. Grand Port Caraïbes is ISO 14001-certified and is recognized, having won awards for the standard of its services at Caribbean level.

Guadeloupe Pôle Caraïbes airport, which can handle four million passengers per year, is the overseas territories’ leading airport. The island has innovation centers, clusters and technical networks (Synergîle, GuadeloupeTech, Cluster Maritime Guadeloupe, RITA).

Guadeloupe

PIB régional

8,597 M€

Habitants

395 700

Superficie

1 628 km²

Capitale régionale

Basse-Terre

Les territoires français d'Outre-Mer

Il existe 12 territoires d’outre-mer : la Guadeloupe, la Guyane française, la Martinique, la Réunion, Mayotte, la Nouvelle-Calédonie, la Polynésie française, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, les Terres australes et antarctiques françaises et les îles de Wallis-et-Futuna. Ensemble, ils regroupent près de 2,6 millions d’habitants. Grâce à ses territoires ultramarins, la France est le seul pays de l’UE présent sur trois océans différents. Ceux-ci contribuent à conforter le deuxième rang mondial de la France en termes de rayonnement maritime et participent de manière significative au déploiement des politiques maritimes et de « croissance bleue » du pays. Précurseurs « 100 % énergies renouvelables » de la transition énergétique et de la promotion des transports propres, ces territoires incarnent l’avenir de l’énergie.

La Guadeloupe : Une région française au coeur des Amériques

La Guadeloupe se trouve dans la zone des Caraïbes, à trois heures de vol des États-Unis.

Ses infrastructures portuaires se composent de 13 ports polyvalents, de 10 ports de pêche et de trois marinas. Certifié ISO 14001, le Grand Port Caraïbes est renommé et plusieurs fois primé à l’échelle caribéenne pour la qualité de ses prestations.

L’aéroport Guadeloupe Pôle Caraïbes, capable d’accueillir quatre millions de passagers par an, est le premier aéroport ultramarin. L’île est dotée de centres d’innovation, de clusters et de réseaux techniques (Synergîle, Guadeloupe Tech, Cluster Maritime Guadeloupe, RITA).