866 506


2 512 km²

Regional capital


French overseas territories

There are 12 overseas territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, and the Wallis and Futuna islands, which together have almost 2.6 million inhabitants. Because of its overseas territories, France is the only EU country that is present in three separate oceans. They help consolidate France’s second place worldwide in terms of maritime reach and make a telling contribution to the rollout of the country’s maritime and “blue growth” policies. These territories enshrine the future of energy as they are the “100% renewable energy” forerunners of the energy transition and the promotion of clean transportation.

Reunion: Europe in the middle of the Indian Ocean

With its unique geographical location, its status as an ultraperipheral region and its vibrant environment, Réunion has many competitive advantages, fostering access to the economic markets of the Indian Ocean area, Asia, the Middle East, Africa and Europe.

The island provides an ideal bridgehead for the expansion of economic activities towards these regions. Its economy, which is focused on agriculture and tourism, is driven by the presence of major companies and a flourishing innovation ecosystem coordinated by a Technopole and a cluster (Qualitropic), which is centered on the tropical bioeconomy.