Regional GDP

2,536 M$


270 372


374 km²

Regional capital


French overseas territories

There are 12 overseas territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, and the Wallis and Futuna islands, which together have almost 2.6 million inhabitants. Because of its overseas territories, France is the only EU country that is present in three separate oceans. They help consolidate France’s second place worldwide in terms of maritime reach and make a telling contribution to the rollout of the country’s maritime and “blue growth” policies. These territories enshrine the future of energy as they are the “100% renewable energy” forerunners of the energy transition and the promotion of clean transportation.

Mayotte: a crossroadsfor maritime trade between Europe and the Indian Ocean

Located at the northern entrance of the Mozambique Channel and 150 miles from Madagascar, the island of Mayotte has been a crossroads for maritime trade between Europe and the Indian Ocean for centuries. The island’s natural and cultural advantages provide strong potential and the sharp increase in the number of air passengers, together with the introduction of a direct flight between Paris and Mayotte, are leveraging growth.