Regional GDP

8,882 M€


376 480


1 128 km²

Regional capital


French overseas territories

There are 12 overseas territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, and the Wallis and Futuna islands, which together have almost 2.6 million inhabitants. Because of its overseas territories, France is the only EU country that is present in three separate oceans. They help consolidate France’s second place worldwide in terms of maritime reach and make a telling contribution to the rollout of the country’s maritime and “blue growth” policies. These territories enshrine the future of energy as they are the “100% renewable energy” forerunners of the energy transition and the promotion of clean transportation.

Martinique: the pearl of the French Antilles

Martinique, which lies halfway between Brazil and the United States, is an associate member of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS).

The fact that it is part of French national territory, coupled with its status as an EU ultraperipheral region, mean that the island is aligned with French standards in terms of business climate, whilst being able to represent Europe in a thriving region with a North American influence.

Martinique has the seventh busiest French port infrastructure in terms of traffic as well as top-tier airport facilities.