Regional GDP

8,597 M€


395 700


1 628 km²

Regional capital


French overseas territories

There are 12 overseas territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, and the Wallis and Futuna islands, which together have almost 2.6 million inhabitants. Because of its overseas territories, France is the only EU country that is present in three separate oceans. They help consolidate France’s second place worldwide in terms of maritime reach and make a telling contribution to the rollout of the country’s maritime and “blue growth” policies. These territories enshrine the future of energy as they are the “100% renewable energy” forerunners of the energy transition and the promotion of clean transportation.

Guadeloupe: a French region at the heart of the Americas

Guadeloupe is located in the Caribbean at three-hour’s flight time from the United States.

Its port infrastructure is comprised of 13 multipurpose ports, 10 fishing ports and three marinas. Grand Port Caraïbes is ISO 14001-certified and is recognized, having won awards for the standard of its services at Caribbean level.

Guadeloupe Pôle Caraïbes airport, which can handle four million passengers per year, is the overseas territories’ leading airport. The island has innovation centers, clusters and technical networks (Synergîle, GuadeloupeTech, Cluster Maritime Guadeloupe, RITA).