French Guiana

Regional GDP

3 806 M€


269 352


83 534 km²

Regional capital


French overseas territories

There are 12 overseas territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, and the Wallis and Futuna islands, which together have almost 2.6 million inhabitants. Because of its overseas territories, France is the only EU country that is present in three separate oceans. They help consolidate France’s second place worldwide in terms of maritime reach and make a telling contribution to the rollout of the country’s maritime and “blue growth” policies. These territories enshrine the future of energy as they are the “100% renewable energy” forerunners of the energy transition and the promotion of clean transportation.

French Guiana: a European presence in South America

French Guiana is located on the north Atlantic coast of South America. Its growth is based on its exceptional geostrategic location, a qualified and competitive workforce, and an abundance of natural resources. Aerospace-related activity, which is centered on the Guiana Space Centre and a number of research centers, mean that French Guiana has the second-highest proportion of research jobs in all of France’s regions, just behind the Greater Paris region.

French Guiana also has substantial resources (gold, iron, bauxite and diamonds) as well as major ecological treasures: the Amazon rainforest covers 95% of its surface area, i.e. over eight million hectares. Seafood-related trade puts Cayenne in fourth place for French fishing ports.